Tuesday, April 30, 2013

“Oh, Snap," I say. "What?" "Sorry. I was flashing back to 2005.”

Eve and Adam – Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate 
291 pages 
Genre: YA; Science Fiction 

Summary: Evening was involved in a horrific car crash that should’ve ended her life. Somehow she survived, and was quickly whisked away to her mother’s lab for treatment. As she is convalescing, Eve’s mother asks her to create the perfect boy using advanced software in the facility, but will things really be as perfect as they seem? 

Review: I was super excited to read Eve and Adam, mainly because it was written by the authors of the Animorphs series, a bookish staple of my childhood. Fortunately, I liked Eve and Adam just as much as I liked Animorphs, and I was hooked from start to finish. 

The plot was rather compelling, if at times predictable, and I flipped through the pages eagerly to discover if what I thought was going to happen would play out. On most occasions, I was able to foresee all of the events, but it didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the story in the least. Eve and Adam is very fast-paced, and there is rarely a dull moment. 

While the plot isn’t all that unique conceptually, it was still fun to see how everything unfolded. Evening was in a terrible accident that should’ve ended her life, yet she was able to heal remarkably quickly with her mother’s help, and it was fun to see her reaction as secrets began to unravel.

Evening was a rather strong narrator, and I really liked viewing the story through her eyes. Even though the description of the book makes her sound like she’s boy crazy, she really isn’t, though she does have fun working on her special project. Eve was a smart, capable girl who really thought things through and had no problem helping friends in need. 

Aislin, Eve’s best friend, was a wonderful foil character for Eve. While Eve was very pragmatic, Aislin was ruled a bit more by her emotions and often found herself in undesirable situations that Eve helped her get out of. Their friendship was incredibly strong, and even though they were really different, their friendship never faltered. It’s so refreshing to see such a positive female friendship depicted in a YA book, as they can often be portrayed as being rather catty, which is, of course, true to life, but it isn’t always the case, as can be seen with Aislin and Eve. 

I also really liked Solo, and it was interesting to discover why he was constantly trying to thwart Eve’s mother’s plans. Solo infiltrated the lab under the guise of seeking employment, and the things he finds out along the way are astounding. His relationship with Eve was also well-done and believable, and watching it evolve over time was a fun ride. 

If you’re looking for a fast-paced book with a science fiction feel, or if you are a fan of the Animorphs series, definitely give Eve and Adam a try. 

Rating: 3.5/5 

Read-alikes: The Adoration of Jenna Fox – Mary E. Pearson, Uglies – Scott Westerfield, Unwind – Neal Shusterman

5 comments: